Just ran my first 18 mile run in over 2 years

After finishing the 18 mile run today I realized this is the first 18 mile run I’ve completed since I ran Boston in 2006. I didn’t know what to expect on this run since I just ran 16 miles on Thursday. I started out relatively easy, probably a little slower than 8:00 min/mile pace. Around mile 4 or 5 I felt like I was warmed up and had a comfortable stride so kept edging a little faster to what was probably closer to a 7:40 which I think is what my easy pace tends to hover around these days. It was good having Bruce, Wiley and everybody else to keep me from pushing. Once we were around 10 miles I did let myself go to the 7:30 to 7:40 pace and was closer to steady pace for the last 2 miles. Overall, as long as the distance was realy 18 miles I was around a 7:30 pace for the whole run which is what most of the weeks runs have been.  This also marks the 60 mile per week point for me, in two weeks I’ll hopefully be at my 70 mile per week goal … as long as I don’t do something stupid or get injured between now and then.

Speaking of injuries, I’m getting the beginnings of planter in my right foot and my shins are a little sore when I touch them. So today I was glad that Advanced Rehab was at the Rogue Equipment store since they were able to work on my foot a bit. Once I got home I decided to ice my legs, shin etc so just need to try and stay on top of all of these aches and pains to avoid injury.

Leave a Reply

