Good week of running and first at the 70 mile target

This was a week of trials and tribulations. It all really started last weekend. The 20 mile run last Saturday was one of the worst runs I’ve had in a long time and it was really a mental test. I needed that run that was just off that required a lot of focus so I’m glad I got through it. Then Saturday and Sunday were consumed by the Rogue Women’s Tri so no running … well apart from running back and forth on the run course checking on volunteers. I was wiped out so no running Sunday or Monday. That meant getting 70 miles in between Tuesday and today (Saturday).

Tuesday morning was the staple steady state which I managed to do, hit the last four miles around the 6:35 to 6:40 mark but the entire run required a lot of focus on my form and my right foot was slapping down too hard. That meant that rest of the week was all about keeping control of my running form. So 12 Tuesday, then 10 or so on Wednesday with the crew starting at Barton Springs. Thursday was around 16, I didn’t have a watch which was a little liberating but the run felt good overall. Then around 12 on Friday at a pretty easy and relaxed pace until I realized I needed to run a little faster to make it to work on time.

Today was the first 22 miler and this was completely different from last weeks 22. It was less humid and when the sun did come up there was some cloud cover so the humidity died down a bit but it didn’t warm up as much as it could have. The entire run was smooth, controlled and I kept to my general approach of long runs which is first third easy, on the slower side of easy pace, next third or more at what feels like a natural easy pace which I think tends to be between 7:35 and 7:45 for me and then try and pick up to the faster side of easy for the last 3 to 4 files. I ran 2 miles with another Team Roguer before the group started on the 20 mile run today, the 20 overall ended up being around a 7:45 pace so looking at my log it seems like things are on track.

One thing I am concerned about is my right foot, plantar problem is still there. It isn’t anything crazy painful but I need to really keep that in check and do the toe and foot strengthening exercises Lisa (massage therapist) suggested last Friday. Shame on me for not doing those yet. So today it’s about foot exercises and a golf ball to loosen out the soles of my feet.

Leave a Reply

