Got Soul?

Today was the “Soul Buster” as Steve calls it and “Soul Maker” is what Mike prefers. The run today was 24.1 miles for me. The run started at Runtex at Gateway and ended at Rogue on East 5th. The “Soul” part of the run has to do with how it started … it was 1.5 to 2 miles to a track. At the track we were supposed to go all out and then finish off the run. The goal was to get some lactic acid into the legs and feel the fatigue at the end of the run that we all do at the end of a marathon.

I’ve been struggling since I got back from my foot sprain with breathing and side stitch problems (here’s a 3 mile run I didn’t manage very well and here’s a 14 miles that pretty much sucked). Today was unfortunately no different. After we crossed 183 and before we were on Mesa I started getting tight in my right side and almost felt like I needed to start walking. It was mental games from hell at that point and the discomfort was there until we hit the track, slowing down, going faster, relaxing the shoulders … nothing seemed to help. Then on the track and I was with the first set starting off, first lap at a 1:18 and then the mile at a 5:30 (ended up slowing down). The pain in the side was there but luckily the pain in the chest with the fast pace drowned it 🙂

Then it was 21 to go with hills waiting at the end. As I kept running, I realized I couldn’t really get rid of some level of discomfort and also running too slow seemed to make my breathing worse. It was around 9 miles, at the Burger King off 35th St, when I decided I needed to just run at whatever felt natural. Jim and I ended up running the rest of the time together and were consistently between a 7:30 and 7:45 pace. Our overall run was a 7:45 pace, which includes the 5:30 🙂

After the run Laura reminded me that I need to go see a doctor since this has been going on so long, of course I would be in between jobs right now. I think my insurance goes through the end of the month so I better do it soon. I did notice that my right side of my back is more tender than the left when I press it so something is aggravated. Let’s see how it goes.

My legs were feeling a little tiered at the end of the run, not sure if that’s the 24 miles or the mile on the track. It was fun none the less to have that mile to change things up.

Current Wins – Managed 24 miles after almost walking at 1.5, new battery for the mac

Current Losses – Schedule doesn’t seem to match up with people I’m trying to hang out with.

One Response to Got Soul?

  1. […] since I got back into the swing of training after the 2 weeks off related to my foot sprain. This run this weekend was no exception, with discomfort in my right side in the mid chest area the entire run. I finally listended to a […]

Leave a Reply

