A week of firsts

I’m really not one for new years resolutions but it seems like a few things have come together right around the new year. As I’ve written in earlier posts I’m trying to train harder this season than I ever have before and it’s going to require some serious dedication. The three related to training I’m working on:

  1. Increasing my weekly mileage to between 75 and 85
  2. Running paces that are “uncomfortable”
  3. Cooking to improve my nutrition
  4. Going to the gym

3 and 4 are really so I can sustain 1 and 2. And this week was a first in many ways, I decided to order a couple of cook books and have managed to cook regularly the last two weeks. I’ve also been keeping up with strength work that I’ve mentioned in recent posts. As my mileage ramps up from my current 55 miles a week to my hopeful 90 mile a week peak I’ll have to try and keep all these things going, let’s see how it goes.

Current wins: Learning what Creme fraiche is, pace pickups during runs, posting on my non-running blog

Current losses: Too much TV, hesitation

6 Responses to A week of firsts

  1. Amy says:

    oooh… homemade creme fraiche is the BEST!

  2. jennhb says:

    Good for you, Kam!!!

  3. Katie says:

    Where is Fool and Foolish???

    Ahem- the black book…

    oh, glad you’re cooking!

  4. kirsten says:

    I’m just laughing to myself. Good for you for finally learning to cook. I think it is funny that there are people out there that don’t know how to cook. Creme freshe is not on my diet but it is good as is Marscapone.

  5. Priscilla says:

    I’m assuming I’m Fool and Dee’s Bigger Fool 🙂 I’ll leave you two at dealing with black books since you’ll be seeing him more often than I will. Congrats on cooking Kamran 🙂 I’m going to try and do the same.. it’s hard doing it for only one person though, so tell me how it works out. [I only spend weekends with the boyfriend so I’m on my own for cooking during the week]

  6. mahemmonkey says:

    All resolutions point to running. Good job cooking! How was the fish?

Leave a Reply

