Running easy but hard

Today was a 16 mile run for me. It has taken some getting used to to run 16 miles on a word day. I get up at 4:30, then get 2 miles in on my own starting around 5:10 and them meet up with the Team to run 14 at 5:30

Today felt harder than it should have in hindsight. I never felt like I was pushing a lot but my average pace for 16 miles was 7:12 and the weather was really nice. I know my 2 miles on my own were 8 miles per minute and then with the group we were in the 7:40 range for a bit and then around 7:20. We started picking the pace up I think in the last 6 or so miles. The last 2 to 3 miles I was averaging 7 miles per minute. It wasn’t hard to hold that pace, but it wasn’t easy either. I could have dropped the pace but didn’t feel it today and decided to hold back a little.

It was amazing to see Ken and Kristin take off once we hit the trail today. Mike was with me for the close today and it was nice having some company. Overall I’m happy with how I did, this should be a 90 mile week right after an 80+ mile week so as long as I’m in the 7:20 range without exerting myself I’ll be happy since that’ll mean I’m not over-training or pushing the paces where it’s tearing my body apart. Let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

